Tempest

Tranquility all around.

A symphony of silence.

It’s so quiet that it deafens me.

 

Peaceful, but unnerving.

So much so, that I know it’s coming.

 

Docked at harbor, I contemplate.

Two choices.

Back to the dust devils on land

Or,

Beyond the squall and into the unknown.

 

I have set sail before,

 

Yet….

 

Somehow,

This time feels different.

 

Closing my eyes,

I can feel something brewing inside.

And strangely enough,

That seems to calm my soul.

 

Awake, I see it now.

 

Scudding clouds,

Raging winds,

Ferocious waves.

 

A blitzkrieg of lightning

And a thunderous cacophony.

 

Smiling,

I haul upon the halyard,

And decide to embark.

 

Sail or sink.

I refuse to back down.

 

Not now.

Not ever.

 

Tumultuous as this journey may be,

I can only think of what lays beyond the storm.

 

Hope for clearer skies and sunshine,

A path to paradise,

To new beginnings,

To just, be.

 

After all,

No odyssey has ever been plain.

 

And so,

My affair with the tempest,

Begins…

Leave a Comment